29-31 July 2020
Europe/Warsaw timezone

The Meeting is organized by the Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of WrocławFakultät für Physik, Universität Bielefeld and by the Polish Academy of Sciences, Wrocław Branch.

The past decade has greatly increased our understanding of criticality in the strongly interacting matter related to the deconfinement of color and the chiral symmetry restoration. Essential progress is coming from confronting lattice QCD and effective model calculations with data from heavy-ion collision experiments. In this workshop we want to focus on an aspect of the thermodynamics of strong interaction matter which found much attention recently:  the role and applicability of hadron resonance gas (HRG) based models in the vicinity of the QCD transition from confined phase to quark-gluon plasma, their comparison to lattice QCD calculations and experimental data from heavy-ion collisions.


  • QCD thermodynamics in the crossover/freeze-out region
  • Modeling confined phase of QCD with the hadron resonance gas
  • Critical behavior of fluctuation observables and their scaling
  • Transport properties of QGP and HRG
  • Linking lattice QCD with data in heavy-ion collisions
  • Impact of criticality in the strongly interacting matter on the physics of compact stellar objects

Conference venue:

The meeting will be held online via Zoom. You can join the meeting via this link or with the following Meeting ID: 899 4761 6002 and passcode: qcd

Speakers include

  • Anton Andronic (Münster U.)
  • David A. Clarke (Bielefeld U.)
  • Jean Cleymans (UCT)
  • Heng-Tong Ding (CCNU)
  • Simon Dentinger (Bielefeld U.)
  • Jishnu Goswami (Bielefeld U.)
  • Olaf Kaczmarek (Bielefeld U.)
  • Pok Man Lo (Wrocław U.) 
  • Michał Marczenko (Wrocław U.)
  • Guy D. Moore (Darmstadt, Tech. U.)
  • Valeriya Mykhaylova (Wrocław U.)
  • Chihiro Sasaki (Wrocław U.) 
  • Christian Schmidt (Bielefeld U.)
  • David Blaschke (Wrocław U.)
  • Dennis Bollweg (Bielefeld U.)
  • Rajiv Gavai (Bielefeld U./IISER Bhopal)
  • Volker Koch (LBNL)
  • Anirban Lahiri (Bielefeld U.)
  • Bedangadas Mohanty (NISER, Jatni)
  • Peter Petreczky (BNL)
  • Owe Philipsen (Frankfurt U.)
  • Claudia Ratti (Houston U.)
  • Anar Rustamov (GSI)
  • Mugdha Sarkar (Bielefeld U.)
  • Michał Szymański (Wrocław U.)
  • Nu Xu (LBNL)











All talks will be given remotely in plenary sessions


Conference Proceedings will be published as a special issue of Acta Physica Polonica B

International Advisory Committee:

  • Peter Braun-Munzinger (EMMI/GSI) 
  • Bengt Friman (GSI)
  • Helmut Satz (Bielefeld U.)
  • Johanna Stachel (Heidelberg U.)

Organizing Committee:

  • Frithjof Karsch (Bielefeld U., chairperson)
  • Michał Marczenko (Wrocław U.)
  • Krzysztof Redlich (Wrocław U./CERN TH)
  • Ludwik Turko (Wrocław U.)


A link will be published on the INDICO agenda
Registration for this event is currently open.
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now